Taxonomy of Psittacines


Taxonomy of Psittacines

Taxonomy of Psittacines

The Psittaciformes

Psittaciform Definition & Characteristics

In this memoir, we will preferably use the systematics developed by the IOC.


Accuracy, although the scope of our study is limited to Psittacids, we may sometimes

mention birds belonging to the other families of Psittaciformes. Indeed,

clinical considerations do not vary between these families and some species (such as Eclectus

(Eclectus roratus) or Callopsittes (Nymphicus hollandicus) for example) are sometimes considered

as belonging to the family Psittacidae according to the classification used.


Common characteristics of Psittaciformes

Psittaciformes are recognizable birds at first glance thanks to some characteristics that can be phenotypic, grouped in Table 1

Bird order Psittaciformes


Characteristics of Psittaciformes

 Presentation of the common characteristics of Psittaciformes

Taxonomy of Psittacines

Taxonomy of Psittacines

Classification of Psittacidae

The family of parrots is often called “Psittacidae”, all belonging to the order of Psittaciformes.

Scientists do not all agree on the classification, most of them agree that it is divided into 3 families: Loridae, Cacatuidae, and Psittacidae.

Others claim that the Loridae and the Psittacidae are part of a distinct family from the Cacatuidae, even that the Psittacidae are a subfamily of the Noctuidae, linked to their way of life, reproduction and appearance.

(Loridae) including parrots called Loris, Lorikeets or about 50 species.

(Cacatuidae) including Cockatoo with twenty species.

The Psittacidae (Psittacidae) being those that remain, counting about 250 species.

These figures may vary slightly according to the classifications, indeed some subspecies can be considered as a full-fledged species and vice versa.

There are several genera among these families (or subfamilies).

Among the Cacatuidae are the genera: Probosciger, Calyptorhynchus, Callocephalon, Eolophus, Cacatua, and Nymphicus.

In the Loridae the genera are named: Chalcopsitta, Eos, Pseudeos, Trichoglossus, Psitteuteles, Lorius (or Loryus), Phigys, Vini, Glossopsitta, Charmosyna (or Charmosina), Oreopsittacus and Neopsittacus.

The Psittacidae family includes the genera: Psittrichas, Nestor, Cyclopsitta, Psittaculirostris, Prospeia, Eunymphicus, Cyanoramphus, Purpureicephalus, Barnadius, Platycercus, Northiella, Psephotus, Neopsephotus, Neophema, Lathamus, Melopsittusus Melopsitusus Aprosmictus, Polytelis, Psittacula, Loriculus, Agapornis, Coracopsis, Psittacus, Poicephalus, Anodorhynchus, Cyanopsitta, Ara, Orthopsittaca, Propyrrhura, Diopsittaca, Rynchopsitta, Guarouba, Aratinga, Nandayusus Cyanolisus, Cyandolisus, Cyanolis, Brotogeris, Pionites, Pionopsitta, Graydidascalus, Pionus, Amazona, Deroptyus and Triclaria.

Like it? Share with your friends!